Due to the shift to social media and the use of the forums dropping dramatically, we have made the decision to close the forums.

The forums are now in READ ONLY mode

The gallery will be migrated to flickr

epic.Management

Antrobus

First time UEFI user

I've just built a new pc with a Maximus Gene V mobo and a Corsair H80 cooler. A mate (Booti) has told me I need to disable something in the BIOS/UEFI to do with cpu monitoring otherwise I'll get constant alarms, but as he doesn't know the board, he can't be more specific. This is my first time working with UEFI so I'm a little lost.

Can anyone tell me what he's on about please?

Secondly, I have 2 sticks of DDR3 that's supposed to be 2000Mhz, but the UEFI reports only 1066Mhz? I'm guessing/hoping this is another setting I need to change?

Guest Kardall

Both are unrelated.

UEFI is just a 'standard' that some company's are trying to get implemented. Disabling can remove some errors with un-adopted hardware in a machine. (edit: during POST)

As far as the Ram. There could be a few things. First one I would suggest, is making sure that your timings on the ram are supported by your motherboard. Check to see (with the manufacturers website) if they have a bios update to support your particular ram if it's special. Things like making sure that the voltages for your RAm timings (9-9-9-24) for example are supported by the current bios version.

Sometimes they support it, but the voltage might throw the motherboard for a loop, so to make it more "compatible" it auto-adjusts the clock down in some cases if it's set to "Auto Timing", just because it's not quite sure how fast it can put an unrecognized ram set. Setting it too high could cause massive instability issues, so most of the time, a manufacturer will have a BIOS flash update to support newer ram timings/types to avoid the down-clocking of the RAM installed.

I hope that helps or at least gives you a point of reference :)